The Story

Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies

Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, what happened? Why am I  a father 11 weeks early? I don’t know but it came as a surprise to me when it happened.

Here is what I remember, since it all happened so fast. I woke up around seven in the morning and looked at my iPhone when I noticed three missed calls from my wife , Jenny, who was in another state watching her parents house. Early that morning, Jenny started having contractions, but she was only 29 weeks pregnant. After many minutes of convincing, Jenny finally went to the hospital. Jenny was rushed to Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies, where I drove four hours to and arrived just in time to watch our 2.5lbs son be born. The moment when my son, Christopher, was born, was the moment I became a man. I never understood what people ment when they said “everything changes” but at that exact moment, everything changed.

My purpose for life changed. My determination to give and protect changed. My love and appreciation for Jenny changed. My self image changed. My financial outlook changed. I could keep going but I thing you get the point, “everything changes.”

For two months straight, my wife and I stayed by our son’s side. With every procedure and every setback, we prayed to God to take care of Chris and give us strength. We became very close with the nurses at the NICU, almost like family. The nurses were our shoulders to lean on when we were having a hard time. God also made sure we had plenty of family and friends to support us. We were never in need of anything. Our family and friends were taking care of us and the NICU staff and God were taking care of our little Choo Choo.

Yesterday, Chris turned nine weeks old. He keeps us up at night and makes us laugh every time he makes a face or sound. He is a miracle and a pooping machine. I never could have planned the experience any better. There are so many memorries that I’m sure I will tell you about later, but I just wanted to get you up to speed on what is going on. Chris will be waking up soon, so I better get some sleep. You will hear from me soon.

One response to “The Story

Leave a Reply

